Create an account


Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
netradiant not showing normal and gloss maps

#1
I'm using the netradiant in the git package of Xonotic and sent the path but all I get in my texture browser are diffuse or color maps and no bump maps, normal maps, or specular maps. All the maps are in my git folder though so I know they are there so I'm wondering if there is a setting I'm missing in Netradiant? Thanks for any help in advance.
SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Reply

#2
You don't need to see them in radiant. At least that's my understanding. The engine uses the bump/normal/glow/gloss-maps automatically if they exist...
He can talk the talk, but can he caulk the caulk?
Reply

#3
(09-26-2011, 12:31 PM)lda17h Wrote: You don't need to see them in radiant. At least that's my understanding. The engine uses the bump/normal/glow/gloss-maps automatically if they exist...

That's my understanding too.
nowego [MLP:FiM]
Reply

#4
Okay, so basically, if I apply the diffuse the corresponding normal and speculars will be applied?
When I was watching tutorials online, they had normal and speculars showing in their texture browsers
SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Reply

#5
The normal and gloss and such textures are only important for the engine. Since the NetRadiant isn´t able to render instantly there´s no need to see them. And it also would be a big mess...
Reply

#6
Now gtkradiant had a preview(static lights) for realtime lighting for id tech 4 games, idk if it works for xon/nexuiz
[Image: foxtrotcproggry.jpg]
Reply

#7
No idea how to enable that light preview EVEN though I know quite a lot Radiant code...
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Reply

#8
This preview you are talking about TH3FTBOT only works in GtkRadiant 1.6 (also know as ZeroRadiant), NetRadiant is 1.5.
Reply

#9
Thanks guys, you've been very helpful, I'll play around with it some more and see if I have any other questions for ya.
SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Reply

#10
NO Maddin it does work in gtk 1.5, make a doom3,q4.,, etc map and press "F3". -Edit: works in netradiant too.
[Image: foxtrotcproggry.jpg]
Reply

#11
Yes, I just don't know what needs to be done to make this work in Q3A maps too. In NetRadiant, Q3A maps and D3 maps use a totally different editor, from the code base. It will be hard to make features from one work in the other.

But as always, patches for this are very welcome.
BRLOGENSHFEGLE (core dumped)

The Bot Orchestra is back! | Xoylent Easter Egg | 5bots1piano
My music on Google Play and SoundCloud
Reply

#12
But as long as naming conventions match, I can make a diffuse with the appropriate normal and gloss maps and they will be used? Say I made my own texture named "bloody_rock.tga" I can choose it and it will automatically find my "bloody_rock_gloss.tga" and my "bloody_rock_norm.tga" with them being located in the same file of course?
SAVAGE
[Image: SavageFinal-1.jpg]
Reply

#13
@SavageDogg: Yes.

@TH3FTBOT: Oh ok, then I jumbled something...
Reply



Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  I need help with NetRadiant The Silver Lining 5 1,278 09-03-2016, 05:54 PM
Last Post: The Silver Lining
  NetRadiant - Some Textures Working / Some Not Notavi 1 759 05-16-2016, 03:50 PM
Last Post: Beagle
  [Discussion] Tutorial and Training maps -z- 41 8,465 01-28-2016, 07:19 AM
Last Post: Mario
  Textures not showing in NetRadiant munyul 10 2,296 10-26-2015, 04:59 AM
Last Post: Smilecythe
  Ingar's NetRadiant packages Ingar 5 4,899 08-05-2015, 02:16 AM
Last Post: Garux
  Nexuiz maps aa 21 7,046 05-09-2014, 10:12 AM
Last Post: aa
  [TLC required] Maps, packs, textures, other stuff in progress I never finished -z- 0 1,739 12-24-2013, 05:08 PM
Last Post: -z-
  How to make a vault door in NetRadiant aa 4 2,940 11-03-2013, 08:29 PM
Last Post: tZork
  Compiling NetRadiant Git on Windows Mario 1 3,948 09-02-2013, 02:11 PM
Last Post: Ingar
  qer_normalImage texture: sets the normal map for bump mapping kristus 2 2,763 07-20-2013, 12:50 PM
Last Post: kristus

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread:
1 Guest(s)

Forum software by © MyBB original theme © iAndrew 2016, remixed by -z-